January 14, 2020

Welcome Back to the MWPVC for 2020!

Welcome to another exciting year in the Midwest Plains Volleyball Conference. We are currently working hard to get everything in order to start the season in about 3 weeks! Invoices have been sent to all teams. League rules and Roster Verification Forms will be sent out this week.


Our conference continues to grow and we are sitting at 58 active teams this year. New teams to the conference include:

University of Evansville (Women)

Maryville "B" (Women)

Vanderbilt University (Men)

Oral Roberts University (Men)

The dates and locations of all MWPVC Events have been released:

2020 MWPVC Men's Tournament Information

East Regional: February 1, 2020 @ Missouri S&T (Rolla, MO)

North Regional: February 1, 2020 @ Bradley University (Peoria, IL)

West Regional: February 8, 2020 @ University of Nebraska (Lincoln, NE)

Crossover Event: March 7 & 8, 2020 @ Lewis University (Romeoville, IL)

MWPVC Conference Championships: April 4 & 5, 2020 @ Center St. Louis & Forest Park CC (St. Louis, MO)

2020 MWPVC Women's Tournament Information

West Regional: February 22, 2020 @ University of Nebraska (Lincoln, NE)

West Regional: February 29, 2020 @ Saint Louis University (St. Louis, MO)

MWPVC Conference Championships: April 4 & 5, 2020 @ Center St. Louis & Forest Park CC (St. Louis, MO)

NCVF Nationals will be held in Kansas City, MO this year (April 9-11, 2020). Check out the NCVF Website for more information!

April 24, 2019

2019 NCVF Nationals Recap

19 men's teams and 12 women's teams represented the MWPVC at Nationals in Denver last week.

After 2 days, 11 teams were still competing for a national championship across 5 divisions:
Men's Division 1AAA- Missouri State, Chicago, Kansas
Men's Division 2- SLU, Lewis, Butler

Men's Division 3- Mizzou"B"
Women's D1AA- Truman State, Mizzou

Women's D1AAA- Missouri State, Nebraska


Saturday was an exciting day for our conference, but one team was left in the finals- Saint Louis University in the Men's D2 National Championship Match. 

Saint Louis knocked off Colorado School of Mines (Rd of 16), University of St. Thomas (Quarterfinal) and UM- Duluth (Semifinal) to match up with Army West Point in the National Championship. SLU was then able to finish their season on top, defeating Army in straight sets (25-23, 25-23) to claim the Men's D2 National Championship! They went 9-1 on the weekend and won their 2nd National Title in 3 years! 

This also meant that the Men's D2 National Champion came from the MWPVC for the 3rd year in a row!! (2017- SLU; 2018- Lincoln College; 2019- SLU)

The University of Arkansas women's team fought hard and beat conference foe Kansas State in the finals of the Women's D1AAA Silver Bracket in 3 great sets by both teams (25-20, 27-29, 16-14)!

Across the 5 divisions, we had 14 players selected to All-tournament teams, including Sam Stealey from SLU who received the Jose Jones Men's D2 MVP award! 
The MVP award was named in memory of Jose Jones, who started the MWPVC in 2010. He would be proud of where our conference is today and we are so excited to have the MVP award given to someone in our conference for a third time (Brenden Stealey- SLU - 2017, Joudiel Poveymirow- Lincoln - 2018).

Congrats to the following MWPVC players for being selected to All Tournament Teams in their respective divisions:

Men's D1AAA
Brady Castillo- 2nd Team Setter (Missouri St)
Sam Pannett- 2nd Team Outside (Missouri St)

Men's D2
Sam Stealey- D2 MVP (SLU)

Jake Hercules- 1st Team Setter (SLU)
Zach Pittz- 1st Team Libero (SLU)
Andrew Kaminski- 2nd Team Middle (SLU)
Matt Vogrin- HM Setter (Lewis)
Bernie Crowley- HM Libero (Lewis)
Alex Belongy- HM Outside (SLU)
Dakota Eash- HM Opposite (Butler)

Men's D3
Brighton Fleetwood- 2nd Team Setter (Mizzou B)

Women's D1AA
Madison Cleeton- 2nd Team Outside (Truman St)
Regan Bruns- HM Outside (Truman St)

Women's D1AAA
Taylor Covington- HM Middle (Missouri St)

CLICK HERE to see the entire list of All Tournament teams! 

Congratulations to all 31 teams that participated at NCVF Nationals in Denver. It was a great year for us along with a third consecutive Men's D2 National Championship. We could not be more proud of the way all of you represented the MWPVC and your schools. We are already getting excited for Kansas City-2020! Keep an eye out for some exciting announcements from the MWPVC this summer!

Please reload

© 2020 by Sam Kern, Content Manager

Midwest Plains Volleyball Conference